Gladzor was a major center of calligraphy where hundreds of manuscripts were created.
An important distinction from other schools of learning in medieval Armenia, Gladzor University had its own charter and its own educational and scientific grading system. Of special note, students practiced oral debate and defended graduation thesis at the university.
The University’s founder and its first Provost was a distinguished teacher Nerses Mshetsi Vardapet (theology, calligraphy), who in 1284 was replaced by Yesayi Nchetsi (grammar, historiography, calligraphy). After Nchetsi’s death (1338) the new Provost Tiratur Kiliketsi (calligraphy and miniature painting) moved the university to Hermon Monastery in Vayots Dzor. Later, after moving to Vorotnavank and, finally, Tatev Monastery, the university was headed by Hovhan Vorotnetsi (philosophy, theology) and Grigor Tatevatsi (philosophy, theology, calligraphy and miniature paintings).